Home > Uncategorized > Where to start?

Where to start?

As a recent Midwestern transplant to Southern California, I needed a way to keep myself busy doing something fun, yet still productive, and so I decided to start a blog.

I’ve been a fan of the blogs Urban Review STL and  urbanSTL for some time, and wanted to find something similar to follow for my new home of Long Beach. Unfortunately, I didn’t come across much. I realized however, that despite not carrying a degree in Urbanology, Civil Engineering, or Journalism, I had nothing to lose in starting my own version of the above-mentioned sites. I thought it might be interesting, at least for me, to write about similar topics as Urban Review STL and urbanSTL with a different perspective. I see a lot of St. Louis in Long Beach and I want to share what I see. In the next week or so, I hope to upload a photo essay (I hate that term) of “my” Long Beach.

So I guess this first posts serves as some kind of mission statement or statement of purpose. This blog will serve as a journal of sorts for exploring Long Beach as well as reflecting on St. Louis. This is not a travel blog. I’m interested to see how my feelings about St. Louis change now that I’ve moved away, and how my feelings about Long Beach will be shaped by my past in the Midwest. What lessons can the two cities learn from one another? What makes them unique from one another? And how will they both influence me personally?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

